The Story of Never (Books 1-3)

This is going to be a combined review for the first three books in the Tasting Never series. I received this box set by signing up for C.M. Stunich’s newsletter. If you sign up, you receive all three books together in one, called Tasting, Finding, Keeping: The Story of Never.

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed these first three books. It started off a little slow for me. The writing was a bit choppy, but as it went on, it got better and a lot more interesting. When I first started reading this, I thought it was just going to be another book about a lost girl who meets a lost boy, which it essentially is about that, but there is so much more in this series. It’s deep and it’s raw and very relatable.

Never Ross is a lonely, broken girl. She goes to college and has a roommate, but she has no other friends. Conflicts at home made her leave her family and boyfriend. It’s five years later and she’s been using sex as a way to cope with her loneliness. One night at a bar with her roommate, she sets her sights on her next guy. Covered in tattoo’s and facial piercings, he has dark eyes that tell a story of the same book she’s from.

Ty McCabe is wounded. He’s also alone with a past that he wants to forget. He forgets that past by sleeping around as much as he can. When he sees Never at the bar, he can tell she is the same. He wants to talk to her, he wants to be around her. He asks her to dance and when she turns him down, he tells her she’s not worth it. Ty McCabe is not used to being shut down. Later that night when he runs into her again at a convenience store, he helps her get out of a sticky situation.

Ty and Never spend more time together. They don’t really like each other but they both need a companion and so they choose to be sort-of friends. The more time they spend together, the more open they become. Never decides to tell Ty her story, her family secret. She’s never told anyone before but she feels she can trust Ty, as he is just like her.

When Never tells Ty her past, he decides to help her get over her pain and tells her to call her family. When Never does, she is surprised to know her sisters want her back home. Ty and Never make the trip back to her hometown in hopes of reconnecting with her family and getting rid of the demons that haunt her daily.

The first book, Tasting, is essentially about two people who have broken pasts, who are alone and scared and only have each other to rely on. The second book, Finding Never is all about soul-searching. Putting closure on the past and moving on with the future. I really enjoyed this book because of that fact. This is when Never and Ty go to Never’s family home where her six sisters and their mother live. Where her boyfriend that she left lives. In order for her to move on, she needs to confront what happened, make amends and start to live her life again.

At the end of the second book, Never finds something out that changes things forever. For herself, and for her and Ty. The third book, Keeping Never, is all about Ty and his past. Still in Never’s perspective like the other two books, but this focus’s more on Ty’s story. His past and the present and how they are going to move on together as a couple.

I really enjoyed the emotional rollercoaster of Never and Ty’s life, individually and together. A lot happened, but it’s all balanced out between the three books. I think overall, the storyline is super great with a lot of meaning. It’s descriptive with a lot of information to take in, but in the end it’s written well and the story is told well. I still have to read the next books in the series, but I feel like if you were to just read these three, you would be satisfied with their story.

These are New Adult novels. They are not intended to be read by young readers. Strong language, some violence, deep subject matters and sex are throughout.

Tasting, Finding, Keeping: The Story of Never Book Cover Tasting, Finding, Keeping: The Story of Never
Tasting Never
C.M. Stunich
Sarian Royal
October 12th 2014

Tasting, Finding, Keeping: The Story of Never (a 3 book box set)
Contains Three Full Length New Adult/Contemporary Romance Novels and Six Bonus Short Stories and Never-Before-Read Deleted Scenes
Recommended for Ages 18 and Up

(Books Included: "Tasting Never", "Finding Never", and "Keeping Never" - the first three books in the series. Books #4, "Never Can Tell", and #5, "Never Let Go" are available now!)

“Sometimes, the only way to go forward is to take a few, careful steps back.”

Never Ross is a broken soul who doesn't need to be fixed. There's a monster inside of her, eating little bits of her everyday, and she can't seem to stop it. It makes her do things she doesn't want to do, say things she doesn't want to say.

She's used to dating guys like Ty McCabe; he's one of the dangerous ones, the ones with pasts that burn like fire and melt everything around them. But there's something different about this soul with a sad smile and arms covered in butterfly tattoos, something that tantalizes Never's shattered spirit.

When Ty and Never form a tentative, almost reluctant, friendship that opens the door on their dark sides and shows them what it's like to live in the light, they'll have to face the skeletons in their closets, fight back the blackness and see if two tortured souls desperate for a healing touch can connect into something beautiful.

Broken doesn't always mean destroyed.

1. "Tasting, Finding, Keeping: The Story of Never"
2. "Never Can Tell"
3. "Never Let Go"
4. "Never Did Say"

Share Button